Wu Tai Shan National Park

Shanxi is a province in Northern Central Region of China.


Shanxi Province, whose name means land west of Taihang Mountain, lies in the middle reaches of the Yellow River and on the eastern edge of the Loess Plateau Mount Wutai is a Sacred Buddhist mountain, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site in Shanxi Province in China.

Wutai Shan means Five Plateau Mountain, and the highest of these stands at 3,058 meters. As one of the four sacred Buddhist mountains in China


As one of the four sacred Buddhist mountains in China, it is a popular pilgrimage destination for Buddhists, who regard it as the domain of the Bodhisattva Manjusri – an emanation of wisdom.

In addition, with its vast assemblage of stunning scenery, historical and cultural relics, and classical architecture, Wutai Shan National Park is also a popular destination for tourists with an interest in China’s rural cultural heritage. The town of Taihuai is nestled in the mountains at the center of the park

* Tang and Song Dynasty Temples.

Tayuan Temple – most prominent temple in Taiyuan
Xiantong Temple – has over 400 rooms
Cifu Temple – secluded and very spiritual
Nanshan Temple – picturesque
Shuxiang Temple – 36 meter high Buddha

* Pilgrimage to the Five Peaks

Wanghai Peak (Peak Overlooking the Sea) to the east
Guayue Peak (Hanging Moon Peak) to the west
Jinxiu Peak (Splendor Peak) to the south, with Nantai Temple at its summit
Yedou Peak (Peak of Flourishing Leaves) to the north
Cuiyan Peak (Peak of Green Rocks) to the middle

– Jixiang Si located on the way down from West Peak

View the Slide-show of Wu Tai Shan