Shanxi Map

Shanxi Province Lying in the eastern part of the Loess Plateau, west of Mts. Taihang, Shanxi is bounded by the provinces of Hebei on the east, Henan on the south, Shaanxi on the west and Inner Mongolia Aut. Reg. on the north.


Two-thirds of the province is composed of plateau, part of the loess plateau. Hilly lands occupy its east and west parts and a string of basins lie in the middle. Area: more than 150000 km’. It is important for its reserves of coal. Shanxi has a temperate continental climate and four distinct seasons with an annual mean temperature of 4-14C’, and the annual precipitation is 400-600 mm. Shanxi is one of the birthplaces of the ancient civilization of the Chinese Nation.

The national major famous scenic areas include Mt. Wutai, Mt. Ilengshan, Hukou Falls, Yungang Grottoes, etc.

Shanxi is famous for its great number of temples, pagodas and frescoes, such as Jinci Temple, Wooden Pagoda in Yingxian County and Guandi Temple in Xiezhou, etc. It is thus reputed as a “Museum of Ancient Arts”.

The famous local products are Fenjiu Wine in Fenyang, the mature vinegar in Qingxu County and date in Jishan etc.